Hand-me-down Re-do

20120726-115251.jpg

I love the look of wicker furniture. This piece was given to me without a cushion, just bare bones. It was cute, but extremely uncomfortable. Not finding oval shaped cushions in local stores, I donned my thinking cap and headed to my home studio for scrap material long enough to trace the seat shape. Once I had my template, I chose fabric with hints of brown found in the wicker. Traced and cut out two sides, make sure they are inside out, then stitch together leaving one end open. Fill with pillow stuffing or buy a block of foam and cut out the shape desired. After filling glue and/or stitch the end shut. The pillows were made the same way.

20120726-115226.jpg  20120726-115322.jpg

Leave a Reply

